It was a long and fast day, with a lot of battle to form a breakaway that finally had fast and heavy men in the bulk of the peloton, like a Wellens who already won in Sabiñanigo, in the fifth stage of this Vuelta, and makes a double.

The Belgian was the strongest on the slope that led to the goal in Ourense, beating Michael Woods (EF) and with Soler already given up. Arrival on a narrow, curvy road, with a sprint between Wellens and Woods as the last lap on a speed track.

Wellens already won in Sabiñanigo from a break. Then, he took four seconds from Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) and twelve from Thymen Arensman (Sunweb), who also got into the escape that crowned the Belgian this Wednesday. This time, with the opposition of Soler and Woods, he did not win so loose, but he was able to raise his arms to the sky of Ourense, which respected the cyclists and did not opt ​​for the rain.

Almost four minutes after the escapees the group of favorites arrived, at the same time despite a final attempt by Dan Martin (Israel) to scratch a second. The Irish go to these endings, with short and hard ramps, but the hardness was not enough to open a gap, and the Roglics, Carapaz and company were attentive.

The 204.7-kilometer stage ran fast. The leak had a margin of about five minutes, a difference that was flushed out with work, although it seemed from the beginning that it would not bear fruit, from Total Direct Energie. The Astana Pro Team also previously tried to end the leak, in which neither of them had representation.

Looking ahead to tomorrow, a similar scenario. Even longer stage, 230.8 kilometers between Mos and Puebla de Sanabria, with options for an adventure on the run. Of course, Roglic will have to be careful to keep the red jersey of leader of the general classification, since the terrain is rugged and the last pass, Alto de Padornelo, is 18 kilometers from the finish line.



1. Tim Wellens (BEL / Lotto Soudal) 4:37:05.

2. Michael Woods (CAN/EF Pro Cycling) m.t.

3. Zdenek Stybar (CZE/Deceuninck-Quick Step) m.t.

Dylan van Baarle (NED / INEOS Grenadiers) mt

5. MARC SOLER (ESP / Movistar Team) at 11.


1. Primoz Roglic (SVN / Team Jumbo-Visma) 53:57:05.

2. Richard Carapaz (ECU/INEOS Grenadiers) a 39.

3. Hugh Carthy (GBR/EF Pro Cycling) 47.

4. Daniel Martin (IRL/Israel Start-Up Nation) 1:42.

5. ENRIC MAS (ESP / Movistar Team) 3:23.