This year’s BCL changed its system – These are the new clubs for AEK, Peristeri | NBA

Election Update: Trump and Biden each do their final sprint in their own way

Welcome to your daily update leading up to the US presidential election on November 3rd. With seven days to go, we will see...

France loses control of the coronavirus and they already forecast 100,000 cases a day in the coming days

The government analyzes the total confinement as of the weekend. Macron would announce it this Wednesday. Entrepreneurs ask for less severe measures.The...

Six National Guard agents arrested for the death of a protester in Chihuahua

The elements participated in the shooting in which Jessica Silva died when protesting the water conflict in the La Boquilla dam, in SeptemberSix elements...

Russia imposes ‘manu militari’ masks and gloves

In Russia, the relative tolerance with those who ignore the recommendation to bring masks Y gloves in public spaces. Rospotrebnadzor, the state body...

Guadalupe Porras, first Spanish referee to participate in an international men’s competition

The Extremaduran assistant, the only woman in the First Division, will be this Thursday in the Europa League match between Lask and Ludogorets"This is...

The BCL decided to change the format of the regular season and the teams were divided into eight groups of four teams.

The organizers of the event decided to act and adapt to the data of the Covid-19 pandemic. So, in this context, it was decided to change the format of the regular season, with eight groups of four teams, instead of the four groups of eight teams.

The BCL will be in action every week: The matches of the first four groups will take place on one day and the matches of the other four will take place the next. Thus, each team will have matches every 14 days, so that there are open dates in case of postponement or changes.

Regarding the Greek teams, AEK was placed in GROUP C with Sole and Hapoel Holon, while there is one place left, which will arise from the pair

The teams will have six matches (three inside and three outside) in this phase, while the first two will qualify for the “16” of the tournament.

The official information in detail:

Following the latest developments in the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board of Directors of the Basketball Champions League has approved a format change for the Regular Season of the 2020-21 season.

Specifically, based on the information gathered from the Advisory, Medical Team of FIBA ​​for COVID-19 that evaluated the scientific data and reports of the World Health Organization as well as the opinion of epidemiologists, the Basketball Champions League decided to adjust the format of this pan-European event as restrictions and numbers are unlikely to change significantly in the coming months.

In order to protect the health of the players, coaches and all involved, as well as to maintain the credibility and fairness of the event, it was decided that the BCL Regular Season would be played with eight groups of four instead of four groups of eight groups.

While the racing calendar remains the same as Tuesday and Wednesday matches, this format change ensures weekly matches, reduces team travel and allows them flexibility without interfering with the National Championship schedule. This change also aims to keep the credibility unchanged and to have certainty about the completion of the season.

The eight new groups were formed based on the already existing group composition that had emerged from the July draw and were divided based on the rankings and groups used in the draw. These were originally determined based on the BCL Club Ranking.

The composition of the groups is as follows:

The teams will play six matches (three inside and three outside) with the first two in each group advancing to the Phase 16, where a system will be in place which will be decided based on the developments so far on the COVID-19 front.

Twelve matches will be played from October to January, which means that there will be two weeks between matches for teams of the same group. The first match will take place on October 20-21.

The updated, accurate race schedule will be announced in the near future.


Related Articles