The coronavirus infection of US President Donald Trump has raised a pertinent question: who would perform the presidency if Trump were not capable of it?

The question is not topical in that Trump’s well-being is good, according to the White House doctor. At the age of 74, however, the president is already at risk for the disease because of his age: more than 80 percent of those who die of COVID-19 in the United States are over the age of 65. Power could also have to be temporarily transferred to others in the event that Trump, for example, was placed in intensive care and could not perform his duties.

Although the situation is exceptional, in the case of similar cases in the United States, it has been determined exactly who would inherit the office. The guidelines have also had to be applied in practice, for example, in 1985, 2002 and 2007, when Presidents Ronald Reagan and George W. Bush were anesthetized during medical procedures.

The primary vice president of the president is his vice president, in the case of Trump, therefore Mike Pence, 61. He would serve as incumbent president until Trump was in power again. In the event of the death of the President, the Vice-President would inherit the post and hold it until the next election.

Pence is not known to be infected with coronavirus. He sent the infection news when it came On Twitter “Love and prayers” to Trump and his wife Melanyal. However, Pence is in close contact with Trump for his office, so Pencek’s health is likely to be closely monitored in the near future.

In an extreme situation where both the president and the vice president would die, a new president would be elected. Instead, if both Trump and Pence were temporarily incapable of acting as president, the chairman of the House of Representatives would become acting president.

In that case, the United States would take over the command of Democrats Nancy Pelosi, 80. She will be inherited in turn by the Senate Republican Elder, President pro tempore Chuck Grassley, 87.

Under a 1947 law, after the leaders of Congress, the heirs to the presidency would be U.S. ministers in the order in which the ministries they headed were established. Admittedly, the incumbent president is also subject to the same eligibility requirements as the actual president: he must be, among other things, a native U.S. citizen and over 35 years of age.

The full order of succession can be found below.


  1. Vice President Mike Pence
  2. Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House of Representatives
  3. Senate President pro tempore Chuck Grassley
  4. Foreign Minister Mike Pompeo
  5. Minister of Finance Steven Mnuchin
  6. Minister of Defense Mark Esper
  7. Minister of Justice William Barr
  8. Minister of the Interior David Bernhardt
  9. Minister of Agriculture Sonny Perdue
  10. Minister of Commerce Wilbur Ross
  11. Minister for Labor Eugene Scalia
  12. Minister of Health Alex Azar
  13. Minister for Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson
  14. Energy Minister Dan Brouillette
  15. Minister of Education Betsy DeVos
  16. Veteraaniasiaministeri Robert Wilkie
  17. Minister of Homeland Security Chad Wolf