Honduras has ratified the UN International Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty. The country ratified the agreement on Saturday, UN Day.

The agreement has now been ratified by 50 states, which means that it will enter into force in 90 days.

– This day is a victory for humanity and a promise of a safer future, Chairman of the International Committee of the Red Cross Peter Maurer rejoices.

The Non-Proliferation Treaty is the first international treaty to ban nuclear weapons. It prohibits the development, manufacture, testing, possession and use of nuclear weapons.

The agreement was approved by the UN General Assembly in July 2017. The international ICAN network, which advocates a nuclear ban, received the Nobel Peace Prize for its work in the same year.

Finland has not signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. According to the government program, Finland will only monitor the development of the agreement. Three of the governing parties have expressed support for joining the nuclear ban.

– Cannot oppose nuclear weapons and defend the right to possess them at the same time, co-ordinator of the ICAN Finland network Claus Montonen says.

– Finland must ultimately choose its side and take a position on whether it really wants to ban nuclear weapons as weapons of mass destruction or whether it defends the right of nuclear-weapon states to threaten all of humanity with them.

None of the nuclear-weapon States is involved in the agreement either.