“Parliament passed a resolution on Thursday with 376 votes in favor, 269 against and 43 abstentions urging the Commission to introduce a legal act providing for a twelve-month suspension of the visa waiver for US citizens, as established in the so-called reciprocity mechanism.

Bulgarian, Croatian, Cypriot and Romanian citizens are still required to have a visa to enter the US, while all other EU citizens are exempt from this obligation for short stays (maximum 90 days in any 180-day period). days), as well as American citizens when visiting the European Union.

In accordance with EU law, if a third country does not remove the visa requirement within 24 months from the date of official notification of a situation of non-reciprocity, the Commission must adopt a legal act suspending the exemption of its nationals from the obligation to hold a visa for a period of 12 months. Both the European Parliament and the Council could object to such an act (Article 290 (2) of the EU Treaty) “, reads a statement from the European Parliament.

The situation of lack of reciprocity, officially discussed on April 12, 2014, affects Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania, and the deadline for action by the Commission expired on April 12, 2016, the Parliament said, according to Digi 24.

Juan Fernando López Aguilar (S&D, Spain), chairman of the Committee on Civil Liberties and rapporteur, said: “Discrimination against Bulgarian, Croatian, Cypriot and Romanian citizens traveling to the United States is unacceptable. Respecting the fundamental principle of solidarity between EU members, we call on the Commission to act in accordance with European law and to present a proposal to suspend the visa waiver for US citizens. It will then be up to Parliament and the Council to assess the political consequences of this action. “

Regarding Romania, Foreign Minister Bogdan Aurescu, who was in Washington on Monday, addressed the subject of the Waiver visa in the talks he had with the head of the American diplomacy, Mike Pompeo.