Lewis Hamilton has written his name in the history of the sport once again, but this time being the most special so far. The British pilot has proclaimed himself as world champion for the seventh time equaling the all-time record for awards, a record in force since 2004 that seemed like it would never be equaled.

Lewis Hamilton – 7 titles

The Mercedes driver has once again crushed the rest of the grid in a season where neither his teammate has been able to compete. After his first World Championship in 2008 with McLarenHe had to wait another six seasons to savor the glory again, to practically not detach himself from it since then. Following the titles in 2014 and 2015, Rosberg took it off in 2016, but Hamilton took flight in 2017 to sign, with this, four consecutive titles.

2020 has been a special year for Lewis, who also broke Michael Schumacher’s record for the number of grand prix victories held by the German until the end of October, in addition to his great activist work, being a standard bearer of the Black Lives Matter movement in sport.

Michael Schumacher – 7 titles

The Kaiser returns to see how Hamilton another historical mark takes away that he had in his hand. The seven World Cups that Schumacher raised have already been tied for the British and everything indicates that the Mercedes will repeat next year … as soon as he confirms his seat in the team. What Lewis has not achieved, for now, is reaching the five consecutive World Cups what the german got with Ferrari, in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004, which added to those of 1994 and 1995 what did you get with Benetton.

  • Lewis Hamilton already sits on Michael Schumacher’s throne, but looks outside of Formula 1

    David Sánchez de Castro

Juan Manuel Fangio – 5 titles

A historical and unknown to some in the world of Formula 1. The Argentine won five world championships, a record that lasted almost 50 years and that until that moment only Schumacher could match, and two years ago Hamilton. The Argentine was crowned champion in 1951 with Alfa Romeo, in 1954 with Maserati, in 1955 con Daimler (current Mercedes), in 1956 with Ferrari and in 1957, again with the trident team.

Sebastian Vettel – 4 titles

The German made history hand in hand with Red Bull achieving four titles, all consecutively, with an imposing car that few could cope with, almost solely stopped by the hybrid era. Champion in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013, will now seek to return to success after the failure with Ferrari with Aston Martin, to improve on his 53 grand prix victories and 57 pole positions.

Alain Prost – 4 titles

Another legend of Formula 1 is the French driver. Dumbass opened its record of world championships in 1985 at the controls of a McLaren, With which repeated in 1986 and 1989. Already in 1993, conquered his last title driving a Williams, before retiring in style. The four-time champion’s career was also marked by his rivalry with Ayrton Senna, which many experts describe as the most intense in the history of this sport.