The controversy of the evening in Boca-Santos that not even the VAR may make clear: was it Izquierdoz’s penalty?

Within the second half, the Boca center-back raised his leg towards ahead Marinho who fell into the world in an remoted play. The Chilean referee Tobar didn’t evaluate it.

The duel for the primary leg of the Copa Libertadores semifinals between Boca and Santos had few aim conditions, but it surely featured a controversial play that might have modified historical past and that not even the VAR made the decision clear: Was it a penalty from Izquierdoz to Marinho?

They had been half-hour into the second half in La Bombonera once they threw a cross ball to the Santos ahead on the proper of the assault and the left of the Boca space. Fabra took it first, however the ahead bought to the touch the ball. At that second Izquierdoz appeared, which was stopped first as a result of it appeared that the Colombian was going to take over the Brazilian ahead’s model. However when the winger stayed, the center-back seen that Marinho may get to the ball.

The Santos striker, who has the flexibility to simulate and drop on the slightest contact, barely managed to the touch the ball and got here to dominate it earlier than it was misplaced over the baseline, however Izquierdoz crossed his physique and Marinho flew by the air.

For the Chilean referee Roberto Tobar nothing occurred. He instantly charged a aim kick for Boca. However the play left many doubts. At first look it looks as if a penalty for the Boca defender. The official transmission of Conmebol introduced that the play was going to be reviewed by the VAR.

The play was repeated in gradual movement from completely different angles and left extra doubts than certainties. Though ultimately it gave the sensation that the Boca defender had knocked down his rival within the space. However Tobar touched the receiver earlier than the declare -tibio- of the gamers of Santos and didn’t even method the monitor to evaluate the play. Go on, go on …



Related Articles