Self-destructing messages on Instagram: how to send photos and videos that disappear or remain

Indigenous protest grows in Colombia against the Duque government

The indigenous people of southwestern Colombia They will reinforce in Bogotá the national day of protest against the Government, which various unions and...

Trump abruptly wraps up ’60 minutes’ interview with Lesley Stahl

The president is angered by the questions and threatens to air the footage before next Sunday's broadcast for fear of manipulation by CBSDuring the...

IDB trusts that they will be able to work with Biden if he wins the elections

The president of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), Mauricio Claver-Carone, anticipated that this institution will work with whoever wins the elections on November...

Elections in the US What if China voted for Donald Trump?

Although bilateral relations were turbulent during the Republican government, the Asian giant could bet on a new term. The reasons.Despite the fact that...

US justice denies bail to former Mexican minister

The Los Angeles Federal Court has denied bail to the former Defense Minister of Mexico, Salvador Cienfuegos, who is accused of drug trafficking...

The chat section of Instagram has become very versatile in recent years, but still includes features that are not very clear, such as self-destructing media messages.

Like an important part of Messenger or the Instagram chat section, Facebook has stolen much of Snapchat’s attractive features. The list of “borrowed” details also includes self-destructing messages. In fact, it’s just multimedia content, photos or pictures. They can be seen once, twice or forever. However, if you are not careful, it is not very clear what type of content you are sending.

Starting from this premise, I thought I would explain everything you need to know about self-destructing messages on Instagram. The entire chat functionality of the Facebook-owned app is hidden behind the paper plane in the upper right, above the main information stream.

With the list of contacts in front of your eyes, at the top, you have a search area, if you want to start a dialogue with a specific person. It is important to remember that you cannot search within conversations, but only in contacts. Tap the person you want to talk to.

As in the screenshot below, in the lower left, you see a blue one-button camera. There lies the functionality of media content that cannot be seen too often. When you tap on it, you can film a short clip, you can take a picture or a boomerang, but you can also choose something existing from the gallery.

Once you have captured or selected the content, at the bottom of the screen you will have three options: View once, Allow replay (View twice), Keep in conversation (never disappears). With a simple swipe you can switch between them. The actual shipment is made by send.

If you want to quickly send media content from the gallery that doesn’t disappear, use the button to the right of the microphone, next to +. Anything you send this way stays in the chat window, just like any other message.

trending

Related Articles