Lewandowski succeeds Van Dijk as European Footballer of the Year

What are ‘hinge’ states and why are they important in the 2020 U.S. Elections

Each electoral system is different, and in the case of the United States, each time the elections arrive it is like living on Mars....

Large majority of Chileans vote in favor of drafting a new constitution

A large majority of Chileans voted on Sunday to draft a new constitution, according to the preliminary results of the referendum that was held...

More than 30,000 evacuated in the Philippines by the passage of Typhoon Molave

Typhoon Molave, which swept through the central Philippines between Sunday and Monday, forced the evacuation of more than 30,000 people by causing strong winds,...

Samantha Power: “The United States should not be the police of the world, but it should be more involved”

Obama's UN Ambassador and Pulitzer Prize winner believes that "even if Biden wins, European allies will fear a resurgence of Trump's vision."This interview is...

White House admits powerlessness in corona crisis – Joe Biden accuses Donald Trump of extradition

In the United States, Democratic presidential candidate Joe Biden is once again criticizing Donald Trump for failing to deal with the interest rate crisis.Biden...

Robert Lewandowski was voted European Footballer of the Year on Thursday. The Bayern Munich forward succeeds Virgil van Dijk, who received the Men’s Player of the Year Award last year.

Lewandowski was given preference over Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne after the draw for the Champions League group stage in Nyon, where the prize was awarded.

The 32-year-old Pole had a great last season. He won the league title, DFB Pokal, German Super Cup and Champions League with Bayern Munich and scored no less than 55 goals in 47 official matches.

In addition to Van Dijk and thus Lewandowski, Lionel Messi (2011 and 2015), Cristiano Ronaldo (2014, 2016 and 2017), Andrés Iniesta (2012) and Franck Ribéry (2013) have also been crowned European Footballer of the Year in recent years.

Pernille Harder was voted European Football Player of the Year. The Chelsea attacker, who came over from VfL Wolfsburg for a record amount this summer, trumped Wendie Renard and Lucy Bronze from Olympique Lyon.

The UEFA awards, which have been awarded since 2011 and can only go to footballers playing for a European club, is unrelated to the French magazine’s Golden Ball France Football and the FIFA Player of the Year title.



Related Articles