How to schedule your Facebook account to be automatically deleted after you die

The Facebook account of a deceased person can be retained, following a request from a verified person. However, Facebook also gives you an option to automatically delete your Facebook account after being notified of your death.

Death is inevitable and, just as you write your will and settle your accounts with life, you must be just as responsible in the virtual environment. Nowadays, many people spend a large part of their lives on the internet, especially on social platforms. The situation worsens when people meet their loved ones’ social media profiles or receive birthday notifications after they have died. A little morbid, isn’t it?

Facebook is probably the most popular of all such platforms. It has options for just about anything. One that allows you to memorize the Facebook profile of a deceased person – those where it says “Remembering / In memoriam” – after receiving a request from a verified person.

A friend or family member can initiate this request. Moreover, you can do it too special request on behalf of a deceased or medically unfit person. Note that proof of death is required.

That person can select Legacy Contacts for their Facebook account. The “heir” contact of the account can then perform basic operations, such as writing a fixed post, replying to friend requests, and updating the profile picture and cover photo.

However, they cannot connect to the account in the memoriam, cannot change other information, and cannot read chats with other friends. If there is no Legacy Contact attached to an account, no one will be able to make changes.

How to automatically delete your Facebook account after your death?

Now, if you don’t want to keep your Facebook account after your death, it can be automatically deleted after you die. Here are the steps to do this:

  • Log in to your Facebook account

  • Click on the down arrow in the upper right corner

  • Click Settings & Privacy in the menu. Then click on Settings

  • Click General on the left

  • Click Memorialization Settings

  • Dă click pe Request that your account be deleted after you pass away

  • Click on Delete After Death

Ready. Facebook will delete your account, including all data in it, after someone announces your death. Now you just have to think about who you leave this huge responsibility to.

trending

Related Articles