The modification aims to bring “consistency and predictability” to users, the company said.
Internalizing recovering a file from the Google Drive trash after a month of deleting it will be an impossible mission soon.
Is that Google decided to change the operation of its cloud storage platform Drive, which will now delete the files from the trash – that is, deleted by users- after 30 days from next October 13.
Previously, when Google Drive users deleted a file, it remained in the trash of the service indefinitely, unless the person decided to actively empty it.
Now, Google has announced through a statement from its Gsuite that the files in the Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
The platform will display a notification to notify its users when it begins to apply this change, starting from October 13.
As explained by Google, this will only affect the files deleted from Drive from the deadline date, since the previous ones will continue to be stored in the trash indefinitely as it happened until now.
In this way, Drive will work in the same way as other Google services such as Gmail, which also deletes emails from the trash after 30 days, so bring “consistency and predictability” to users, according to the American company.