Three hours after the end of Emilia Romagna’s GP game, Fernando Alonso Unexpected gift received: sanctions Kimi Raikkonen. The Finn was initially ranked 8th, but the management asked him to testify against the bright spot agreement.
The penalty for the experienced Finnish pilot was 30 seconds, for which he lost several positions, which allowed him to leap to Esteban Ocon ÿ Fernando Alonso, Become 9th and 10th respectively.
In this way, the French added two points and the Spaniard added two points. Alpha scored points for the first time and returned to Formula One. This is not a very attractive award, but it allows him to better face other competitions.
In particular, the FIA discovered that what Raikkonen did after the safety car was illegal. This is a statement from the FIA explaining its decision:
“On the lap before the restart after the race was suspended, Raikkonen turned and entered the third turn. Article 42.6 states that as long as the driver can do this before the front row of the safety car, he can resume his position.
At first, the team instructed him to do this, but then told him to keep his position.Article 42.6 states If the pilot does not recover position, he must enter the maintenance area And he can rejoin the game only after the entire grid has cleared the pit exit.
Article 42.12 states that once the lights of the safety car are turned off during the overhaul, “the driver shall not overtake another car on the track before passing the line…” In this case, The driver caught up with the car in front of him between turns 13 and 14, but the safety car went out near turn 10.
This seemed to be a contradictory instruction, and the team ordered the pilot not to regain his position because of fear that it would cause safety problems in wet conditions.
They radioed the person in charge of the game, but there was no time to respond between his call and the restart. The steward thinks this is another contradiction, that is, when the car is behind the safety car, they are prohibited from overtaking, but when they are behind the safety car and need to restart, they are allowed, even if the reason for the start is: the tracking condition does not allow stopping start up.
However, if the car does not regain its position, the rules that require the car to enter the pit lane are consistent across multiple championships. It has existed in the “Sports Regulations” for several years and has been consistently applied.
The penalty is mandatory, so the steward believes that they have no other choice but to use this penalty for consistency reasons.“.