Arnaud Demare, French road champion and time trial runner-up, once again confirmed that he is the fittest sprinter in the Italian round of the peloton, thus adding three victories, and another ten more in the atypical course of 2020 due to COVID-19 , in the present edition of the ‘corsa’.

It seemed that the group was in a hurry to reach Brindisi, as it arrived half an hour early to the finish line encouraged by the frenzy of the runners, interspersed with the nerves of the fans and the ‘montoneras’, the result of braking and yearning not to lose Companion’s front wake.

In one of them, 45 kilometers from the goal arch that Arnaud Demare would cross triumphantly again, despite the complaints of an impotent Sagan about an alleged change of direction by the French, Filippo Ganna, the great Italian hope, was trapped and led a successful chase because the platoon seemed to lift its foot.

Smoothly in the final stage, the teams with sprinters struggled to occupy the asphalt to launch their leaders, and the one that did the best was the Groupama of a Demare that seems to find no rival in the final stretch of the Giro stages. This time Sagan hit the post again, although he was found unable to overcome ‘King Arnaud’.

The Portuguese Joao Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick Step) once again kept the pink jersey of leader of the general classification ahead of the Spanish Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-McLaren), who initially was displaced to third place, but the judges returned to the second when considering that there was no cut in the group.

This Saturday the eighth stage will be run, 200 kilometers between Giovinazzo and Vieste (Gargano), with a second-class pass, Monte Sat’Angelo, but in the middle of the day, far from being able to make a final selection. The final circuit, of 14.5 kilometers, has a first section in via Saragat of one kilometer with a slope of 15 to 17 percent.


– Stage.

.1. Arnaud Demare (Fra / Groupama-FDJ) 2:47:28.

.2. Peter Sagan (Svq/Bora-Hansgrohe) m.t.

.3. Michael Matthews (Sunweb) m.t.

.4. Ben Swift (GBR/INEOS) m.t.

.5. Álvaro José Hodeg (Col / Deceuninck) mt

– General.

.1. Joao Almeida (POR / Deceuninck-Quick Step) 24h48: 29.

.2. PELLO BILBAO (ESP / Bahrain-McLaren) a 43.

.3. Wilco Kelderman (NED / Team Sunweb) 48.

.4. Harm Vanhoucke (BEL/Lotto Soudal) 59.

.5. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA / Trek-Segafredo) 1:01.