Before Diego Schwartzman and Nadia Podoroska, what other Argentine semifinalists were there at Roland Garros

Indigenous protest grows in Colombia against the Duque government

The indigenous people of southwestern Colombia They will reinforce in Bogotá the national day of protest against the Government, which various unions and...

Trump abruptly wraps up ’60 minutes’ interview with Lesley Stahl

The president is angered by the questions and threatens to air the footage before next Sunday's broadcast for fear of manipulation by CBSDuring the...

IDB trusts that they will be able to work with Biden if he wins the elections

The president of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), Mauricio Claver-Carone, anticipated that this institution will work with whoever wins the elections on November...

Elections in the US What if China voted for Donald Trump?

Although bilateral relations were turbulent during the Republican government, the Asian giant could bet on a new term. The reasons.Despite the fact that...

US justice denies bail to former Mexican minister

The Los Angeles Federal Court has denied bail to the former Defense Minister of Mexico, Salvador Cienfuegos, who is accused of drug trafficking...

So far, thirteen Argentines in all of history had managed to get among the four best of the Parisian Grand Slam. There were only two champions.

Parisian brick dust was forever part of the great dream of Argentine tennis players. But only two throughout history managed to consecrate themselves at Roland Garros: Guillermo Vilas in 1977 and Gastón Gaudio in the remembered final against Guillermo Coria in 2004. The last antecedent of an Argentine in the final is that of Mariano Puerta, who fell against Rafael Nadal in 2005.

Nadia Podoroska and Diego Schwartzman have already installed their names in the Argentine history of the historic Grand Slam that takes place in France. And they want more.

Until now, thirteen Argentines they had managed to get into the top four at Roland Garros, of which nine failed to advance to the deciding match.

The story had started far and long ago, when the remembered Enrique Morea entered the semis in 1953 and 1954. He could never go beyond that instance.

Vilas was the only one who played more than one final: before the victory in 1977 (he swept Brian Gottfried 6-0 6-3 and 6-0) had reached the last game in 1975, when he fell against Bjorn Borg (6-2, 6-3, 6-4) and then in the 1978 editions (he lost again to Borg 6-1, 6-1, 6-3) and 1982 (loss to the Swede Mats Wilander 1-6, 7-6, 6-0, 6-4).

If it is about the semifinals, one of the most remembered editions is 2004, which had three Argentines disputing the tickets to the decisive clash. Gaudio achieved it by beating Cordovan David Nalbandian while Guillermo Coria was a finalist after beating the British Tim Henman, who in the quarterfinals had defeated Juan Ignacio Chela and thus prevented the complete sky blue and white poker.

Enrique Morea: 1953, 1954

Raquel Giscafré: 1974

José Luis Clerc: 1981, 1982

Gabriela Sabatini: 1985, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1992

Franco Squillari: 2000

Clarisa Fernández: 2002

Paola Suarez: 2004

David Nalbandian: 2004, 2006

Juan Martin del Potro: 2009, 2018

Guillermo Vilas: He was champion in 1977 and reached the final also in 1975, 1978 and 1982.


Related Articles