An unexpected blow for Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in a UEFA announcement

The disputed religious vote in the US elections

There may have been no less religious president in modern America than Donald Trump, no matter how much he declares himself a Presbyterian Protestant....

It has not been seen in public for 9 months

The hermetic and not very transparent communist regime in North Korea gives rise to every little information about disappearances from the public eye of...

The number of positive tests in Belgium continues to increase rapidly, especially in Liège

The number of positive corona tests in Belgium has increased sharply again in the past week, according to figures from the online dashboard of...

The war in the Caucasus. Pompeo receives his Azerbaijani and Armenian counterparts in Washington: Call for an end to violence and diametrically opposed...

Mike Pompeo met separately in Washington with his Azerbaijani counterpart Djeyhun Bairamov and then with Armenian Zohrab Mnatakanian. The head of US diplomacy "stressed the...

AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson resume trials of corona vaccines

AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson are resuming their trials in the United States with the corona vaccines they have developed. As a precaution,...

De Bruyne, Lewandowski and Neuer make up the shortlist from which the best player in the Champions League will emerge.

After what was probably the strangest Champions League in history, which ended up establishing Bayern Munich as the new champion, it was time to choose the best players in the competition. Several players stood out, although one detail generated great curiosity: neither Lionel Messi nor Cristiano Ronaldo are in the shortlist of candidates.

The three footballers who will compete to win the award this season are: Kevin De Bruyne, of Manchester City; Robert Lewandowski, del Bayern Munich champion; and Manuel Neuer, from the same team.

The Polish striker stings, as he was the tournament’s top scorer and essential to obtain the title. 80 coaches and 55 specialized journalists voted for the preselection.

Among the most notable casualties in the race for the trophy are, in addition to Messi and CR7, players of the stature of Thiago Alcantara The Memphis Depay, which performed superlatively, especially in the post-pandemic restart of football.

The French Rudi Garcia, which led Olympique de Lyon to the semifinals, was an absence that drew attention in the coaches category. The shortlist was made up entirely of Germans: Hans-Dieter Flick (Bayern Munich), Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) y Julian Nagelsmann (RB Leipzig).

The gala will be on the first day of October, when the group stage draw for the next edition of the international cup will be held. That same day the winners in the female branch of this award will also be announced. The best player will come out of Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg), Lucy Bronze and Wendie Renard (ambas del Olympique de Lyon).

Likewise, Lluis Cortés (Barcelona), Stephan Lerch (Wolfsburg) and Jean-Luc Vasseur (Lyon) are waiting to find out who was the best coach in the women’s edition of the European competition. And, of course, everyone will wait to see how the 2020/2021 Champions will be played.


Related Articles